Thursday, March 21, 2019

FANGTASTIC TALES OF WEREWOLF SAVAGERY by Toneye Eyenot



FANGTASTIC TALES OF WEREWOLF SAVAGERY by Toneye Eyenot

Published March 21st 2019

Published by Luniakk Publications

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(from the book description)

 La Lluna Plena – the Full Moon – that beautiful and mysterious celestial body which stirs within us all those deep, dark emotions we do our best to subdue and control. For some of us, her influence runs deeper, much deeper. We all walk beneath her maddening rays, yet, while most may shrug off the notion that inside us all resides a beast – a savage wolf – there are those of us who embrace the monster within and ride that lunatic wave with abandon each time she casts her gaze upon us.

Some see it as a blessing, others…a curse. To be bitten, and fall prey to murderous urges beyond our control, or to have the good fortune to be born into the pack, or perhaps even to whisper words of spell in order to evoke the lycanthropic gift, there are more than a few ways to cast aside the human skin and let loose the wolf within. Those ways are explored throughout this collection of werewolf terrors.

Suspend disbelief, dear reader, because whether you care to admit it, or continue to live in ignorant bliss, we walk among you. We smell the blood as it courses through your veins and taste your fear on the breeze. We long to see the life drain from your quivering flesh as we gorge. Beware the Full Moon, as you are about to enter the world of the Werewolf.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If there was ever someone in this world that could be a real werewolf, I would believe that person would be Toneye Eyenot. This man virtually lives, breaths and thank the moon, writes werewolves.

Toneye's newest release, FANGTASTIC TALES OF WEREWOLF SAVAGERY is a collection of five stories. Each story is a different take on the wolf, but they all feel like they could be taking place in the same world. This web of inter-connectivity creates a feeling of falling into a mythos created out of the blackness of the authors nightmares.

Toneye treats the werewolf as the main character. No beast taking the back seat to a hero looking to save the day, or a girl in a red hood trying to lead it astray. The wolf is front and center, and that is what I really enjoyed about the tales. I have always loved a good werewolf story and it is so spectacular to see the wolf be set free. And these are proper werewolves, not your over-sized cuddly dogs chasing sparkly vampires. They are bloody, savage killers, rending flesh and chewing on bone.

Lets take a look at the stories included in this book.

BLOOD MOON BIG TOP

This is a revised 2nd edition of this story which was originally published in 2016. I wanted to include a image of the original cover, just because it is awesome. What could be just as scary as werewolves...clowns of coarse.


This doozy of a tale follows a clown named Marbles. He is a loner who enjoys his solitude between shows with a traveling circus. One night while out for a walk he stumbles across a feral child in the forest and and gets bit on the hand. Little does Marbles know that this one event will make life as he knows it spiral out of control and lead him down a path of blood and death.

This is the longest story in the collection and boy does it deserve to be front and center. We see this man slowly and methodically start fighting with his own humanity. We all know that he will lose to the wolf in the end, but the journey to that point is a roller-coaster ride of emotions. As Marbles looses his battle to the beast, he partakes in murder after murder to feed his growing hunger. Each one more gruesome then the last as the full moon approaches.

Toneye does not hold back on the gore. The deaths are horrible and vicious and keep building until one of the biggest blood-soaked conclusions you will ever read.
---------

HUNTER'S MOON

A pack of werewolves in the Blue Mountains of Australia prepare for the night of the Blood Moon and The Great Hunt.
They have gathered their prey from the surrounding community of humans and when the time is right they will be released and the wolves will hunt.

This tale gives a good look at the Pack dynamic of this group of werewolves. Each member is different, but when the hunt begins, they are one. The common goal, hunt and kill the human prey.
---------

DIRE

A thief takes a job to steal a fossilized paw print from the natural History Museum. It is a strange artifact, and when he returns to the man who hired him, events take a strange and deadly turn.

This story, with it's quick lead in and finale, reminded me of a Outer Limits episode. Just a nice little satisfying compact story.
--------

HUMAN SKIN

Two Private Investigators at a gruesome crime scene try to decipher the truth about a mangled body. Was this a stray animal attack or something far more sinister. And what could the old man who lives alone by the old docks have to do with it.

Hard Boiled crime and werewolves. I could read a whole book on this topic alone.
-------

THE TOMB OF LEGION

It's werewolves vs vampires (not the pretty sparkly ones) in an all-out battle of supremacy. And we even get some witches thrown in for good measure.

Out of the 4 shorter stories in this collection, this is my favorite. Who doesn't love wolves and vamps tearing into each other. The author gets to let loose and creates some real carnage on the page. We even get a ending that leaves the door wide open for a new chapter.
--------

As a bonus, a excerpt from the authors other novel, WOLVZ: WHISPERS OF WAR is included at the end of the book.

The moon is full tonight, so grab your copy and howl away. The night of the wolf is just beginning.


FANGTASTIC TALES OF WEREWOLF SAVAGERY can be purchased on Amazon in
EBOOK and PRINT.

To learn more about Toneye Eyenot please visit is website www.toneyeeyenot.weebly.com

Toneye also runs LUNIAKK PUBLICATIONS. Make sure to to stop by their site to see all the other Fangtastic books they have to offer.







Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Guest Post: Her Maddening Rays by Toneye Eyenot

Today we are joined by author and musician Toneye Eyenot. Toneye is also the owner of Luniakk Publications. His newest book, Fangtastic Tales of Werewolf Savagery drops tomorrow. Please make sure to stop by luniakkpublications.com to check out all of the authors other great books.



Her Maddening Rays 

By Toneye Eyenot

 “There’s a darkness in me 

With the power of oceans, it swells within me 

Surges the tides as it yearns to break free

 Crashing waves of black emotions, the Moon sings to me 

The clouds dispersing, her maddening rays 

Churn the depths of my soul to a rabid blood craze”

 ~ Excerpt from ‘Rabid Blood Craze’ Eyenot Chaotic Impurity

How many of us are able to remain in control of those emotions when that beautiful celestial body takes her seat in the night sky? Is it true that the Moon dictates the rhythms of our psyches? Science seems to lean towards ‘Yes’, at least with the latter. It is also apparent that many do find it difficult to contain the Beast within when the Moon is at her fullest. We’ve all heard the stories:crime rates rise, hospitals and ambulance crews become busier. Hell, even parties on a Full Moon night tend to get just a lOttle bit wilder than usual. There is definitely merit to the theory.

 But, this lunacy, when it takes hold, affects some a lot more than most. Lycanthropy: either the delusional belief that one has become a wolf, or perhaps even the true ability to cast aside the human skin, be it by spell or curse, the Werewolf has been a constant throughout history going back through time immemorial. 

Surely, there is a spark of truth behind the myth. Shamans of many cultures, both ancient and modern, sorcerers, witches, gypsies those who dwell on the fringes and beyond of ‘accepted’ societal beliefs hold fast to this knowledge. The aforementioned ‘science’ never has all the answers, much as the scientific community may scoff at absurd notions such as Man becoming Wolf.

The one thing science always manages to prove is that it is perpetually wrong. Scientific ‘discoveries’, for the most part, are just a confirmation (and admission) of what has been known for millennia by those who are not bound to our ‘agreed upon’ reality, and that which scientifically minded people had previously spent years ridiculing.  

 Yes, there is magic in our world. Creatures and forces beyond our comprehension roam these lands, as many throughout history have borne witness to, and still do to this day. Stories of the Dogman, the Skunk ape, Bigfoot and a plethora of terrifying beasts crossing our paths have sparked the curiosity and imagination of countless people around the globe.

Just as it could be considered arrogant, even ignorant, to say that we are alone in the universe, who’s to say these creatures of myth and legend don’t really exist? Suspend disbelief, dear reader, because whether you care to admit it, or continue to live in ignorant bliss, we walk among you. We smell the blood as it courses through your veins and taste your fear on the breeze. We long to see the life drain from your quivering flesh as we gorge. Beware the Full Moon, as you are entering the world of the Werewolf.

Toneye Eyenot 


 

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

CARNIVOROUS LUNAR ACTIVITIES by Max Booth III



CARNIVOROUS LUNAR ACTIVITIES by Max Booth III

Published February 22nd 2018

Published under the Fangoria Presents banner by Cinestate.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(from the book description)

Ted and Justin were once best friends, but over the years they’ve seen less and less of each other. Now, something’s wrong with Justin. He can’t sleep, he can’t think straight, and he certainly can’t explain why he keeps waking up naked and covered in blood. Ted might be the only person who can save him-- assuming he’s okay with shooting his childhood BFF with a silver bullet. But that’s what friends are for, right?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CARNIVOROUS LUNAR ACTIVITIES by Max Booth III is the 3rd book published under the Fangoria Presents banner and shows that Fangoria has an eye not only for the scares, but for the truly entertaining stories.

 Ted and Justin are 2 childhood friends who have grown apart over the years, but circumstances bring them together. Justin has a problem, and he needs to convince Ted that what he fears is real, before it is too late. An evening of friends catching up, loads of beer and one big-ass anchor will lead both friends down paths they never imagined they would travel.

It has been quite awhile since I picked up a horror book expecting frights and found those, but also loads of humor that will make the reader laugh out loud. The author has created a story that is very unique.  At its core this is a story of two friends getting reacquainted, even though not at the best of times, or terms. In some writers hands the premise of two friends talking for the majority of the book could go horribly wrong, but Max Booth has handled the conversation aspect of this story wonderfully. It is just pure enjoyment to read the interactions between the friends. They know each other, what buttons to push and stories from their past to tell. They could just be any of us on a weekend with our friends. The humor helps movie the story along and really it could have just kept reading about these to talking all night. It is that much fun.

But even with the humor, this is still a werewolf story and there is blood and gore by the buckets. When the action really starts the author does not hold back. The last few chapters will fly by in a flash of blood and fur. And even though you know what is coming as the story progresses, the author still manages to throw a few surprises in on the reader.

I also have to give Max props for using the city of Hammond IN as a back drop. I grew up spending my weekends in downtown Hammond and it is always fun seeing someplace you are familiar with appear in a story. It just gives you that much more of a connection to the story.

So pick up a six-pack and spend the weekend with CARNIVOROUS LUNAR ACTIVITIES.
(big-ass anchor optional)


You can purchase CARNIVOROUS LUNAR ACTIVITIES on AMAZON.

To learn more about MAX BOOTH III and his works please visit his website
www.talesfromthebooth.com







Saturday, March 16, 2019

SAINT SADIST by Lucas Mangum


SAINT SADIST by Lucas Mangum

Published March 16th 2019

Published by Grindhouse Press

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(from the book description)

Pregnant with her father's child, nineteen-year-old Courtney is a girl on the run, willing to do anything to make her way on the road. When a car accident leaves her wounded by the side of a desolate highway, she is taken in by an environmentalist doomsday cult led by the enigmatic Saint Ambrose, a charismatic preacher and ex-environmental scientist who gave up everything after claiming to see the face of God. When he meets the seemingly vulnerable Courtney, he is taken by her beauty and her wounded soul. Now, with the promise of salvation hanging in the balance, Courtney must undergo a series of trials, each more painful and humiliating than the last, her incestuously conceived baby growing in her womb, a strange presence visiting her at night and telling her Ambrose has lost his way and it is she who must overthrow him.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Be warned right off the bat that SAINT SADIST is not going to be a book for everyone. Dealing with the topics of abuse, incest, torture, sex and religion, this story can really cause a roller-coaster of emotions from the reader.

Courtney has grown up in a home where she was physically and sexually abused by her father. When she becomes pregnant with her fathers child, she decides to leave home and attempt to start a new life with her child. After having to turn to prostitution for money, Courtney finds herself taken in at a homestead run by a mysteriously captivating man who promises her a safe place to live and wishes her to follow his religion based around the earth. I this new place safe for her, and what of her growing baby? A battle is about to be waged and Courtney will find herself playing a part she never imagined.

Now you might think that these are all some pretty heavy topics to all be covered in this single story. In any other hands they might be, but the author's writing style is perfectly fitted for this tale. And there could not be a better word to use than "style". This is just a beautifully written book. The regular narrative is at time interrupted by random thoughts, quotes and bible references, but not in a way that disrupts the flow of the story. They give us more insight into the main character and her actions and reactions to the world around her.

It is also a very interesting clash when the topic of religion is addressed. Ambrose, the leader of the homestead teaches a kind of earth religion, where Courtney was raised in a christian way. (Although it is hard to believe her family followed the church when you see the hell she has been subjected to as a child). Courtney's inner battle between the religion she knows and the new one presented to her is a main driving point in the story. There is some very harsh religious symbolism used at times and will likely give people a very Barkeresque feeling.

The author does a wonderful job of keeping the reader guessing. At times the line between what is real and what is not is very fine. Is it really happening or is it just a construct of a very disturbed and abused young woman. A lot of these questions you will still be asking as you turn the last page.

Reading this story is an experience that you should not pass up.


You can purchase SAINT SADIST on AMAZON.

Make sure to visit lucasmangum.com to learn more about the author and his works.

To learn more about the Published please visit GRINDHOUSE PRESS.

Thursday, February 28, 2019

THE GIRL WHO HID IN THE TREES by Steve Stred





THE GIRL WHO HID IN THE TREES by Steve Stred

Published February 28th 2019

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(from the book description)


Something lurks just beyond.
Centuries ago a heinous act created a ripple that still haunts the residents to this very day.
Now the kids who reside near McConnell's Forest live forever in fear.
Jason lost his brother when he was young. He left with his friends to ‘debunk’ the urban legend and never came back.
Now Jason and his group of friends are fed up and want to discover what is happening, what is the real cause of the terror holding their small town hostage.
But something is waiting for them. She may look sweet and innocent, but the friends are about to find out that pure evil can exist in the smallest of packages.
She's out there. And while you may not know her name or what she looks like, the local kids will tell you if you ask, that you should fear for your life from the girl who hid in the trees.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 I have been a fan of Steve Stred since I read his novella WAGON BUDDY last year.  Since then I have read through his existing works, and his newest novella THE GIRL WHO HID IN THE TREES is his best yet. A coming-of-age type tale, reminiscent of Stephen Kings' IT, and more recently TAMER ANIMALS by Justin M. Woodward.

The story centers around Jason, who looses his older brother at a young age to what the residents of his town call an Urban Legend. The mystery of a young girl who hides in the local forest and lures people to their deaths. Years later, after having a horrifying vision of his brother, Jason decides to gather his friends and end the legend once and for all. What starts as a weekend in the woods with friends, turns into a night a terror that will change Jason's life forever.

The author puts a lot of work into his characters. Making them likable and more importantly, believable. These could be your personal group of childhood friends. The story moves along at a good pace and then jumps into overdrive towards the end. The blood and gore flow freely in the final pages and the author does not hold back. No one is safe and he manages to pull off a few surprises  that will catch readers off guard. The author manages to give us a conclusion that is both heartbreaking and totally satisfying. 

You may never want to walk alone in the woods again after reading this tale.

 This is definitely one book you will want to pick up and spend the afternoon reading. I recommend it highly.

A little added bonus is a forward by Gavin Kendall of KENDALL REVIEWS. I have been a follower of Gavin's for some time and was happy to see him get the opportunity to write this forward. Make sure to check out his site for some really awesome book reviews.

You can purchase THE GIRL WHO HID IN THE TREES in ebook and print on AMAZON

You can learn more about the author Steve Stred by visiting his site HERE.

Saturday, February 9, 2019

LIMBS: A LOVE STORY by Tim Meyer


LIMBS: A LOVE STORY by Tim Meyer

Published February 9th 2019

Published by Grindhouse Press

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(from book description)

I am not a monster.

Ray Bridges, a professional electronics salesman, is looking for love in all the strange places. He spends most nights sneaking into support group meetings for the disabled in order to satisfy his deepest, darkest desires—to hook up with unfortunate, down-on-their-luck women who’ve recently lost a limb. There's a name for Ray’s preference; it’s called acrotomophilia, a paraphilia involving amputees.

Conflicted, Ray wishes he could change. But he can’t. His body won’t let him. Nor will his mind. He’s destined to live this life, forever. That is . . . until he meets the perfect girl. Falls in love with her. Only problem: her arms and legs are attached.

Unable to find her attractive, Ray embarks on a dark, twisted journey of self-discovery, one that will force him to make an impossible choice: abandon his pursuit of true love or find a way to make it work, even if that means getting the girl of his dreams to shed an appendage.  
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It is February and love is in the air as we approach Valentines day. There is no better time than now to read a touching, heartfelt love story. Or better yet a love story peppered with blood, dismemberment and deceit. That is exactly what we get and more in the new release LIMBS: A LOVE STORY by Tim Meyer.

I do not have to go into too much detail of the story, as the above description from the book gives you a lot of the story background. Let's just say that Ray is a very complicated guy. His peculiar preferences has lead him to lead a life of lies and deceit as he trolls support groups for his next fix. But when true love finally finds him, can he truly love her when his mind is not happy with her body, or more so the completeness of it.

By all accounts this is a love story at heart, but it is also contains a good dose of horror and gore. The author sets up a great story that may start off slow to some, but he uses this time to really develop Ray and helps the reader make that connection. Some will hate him and others will sympathize with him as he deals with his internal struggles. There is a small set of supporting characters, my favorite being Ray's horror movie loving friend from work who adds a touch of humor and lightheartedness to the story.

The third act of the story is where the author throws the tale into overdrive and delivers a few unexpected surprises and the blood truly starts to flow. I do have to admit that the author had me fooled as to the outcome as the tale progressed, and I loved it.

On a personal note, being an amputee myself and having attended support groups, I had heard stories about just this kind of character that the author created in Ray. We had a leader who told us a story of one guy who would came to the meetings for almost a year and no one ever knew he was faking until a member ran in to him outside the meeting. It's was really interesting to me to see the author create a story about this real life occurrence and it's possible outcomes.

I highly recommend this book. In fact it would be a wonderful Valentines gift for your loved ones (if they have a slight dark side), along with a nice box of chocolates of course.


You can purchase LIMBS: A LOVE STORY on Amazon in EBOOK and PRINT.

To learn more about Tim Meyer and his other works click HERE.

And to learn more about the publisher and their other great books please visit
GRINDHOUSE PRESS.


Saturday, January 19, 2019

AS SEEN ON T.V. by John Wayne Comunale


AS SEEN ON T.V. by John Wayne Comunale

Publish date January 19th 2018

Published by Grindhouse Press

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(from book description)

Artie is a serial killer obsessed with As Seen On T.V. products. Collecting and modifying these items is his only passion outside of killing, which he’s been doing a long time. Far longer than most of his peers, but Artie always took special care to make sure he remained free. Now a strange, small man has moved next door to him, and the smell of popcorn hangs thick in the air. After a few odd interactions with him, Artie starts to wonder if there’s something other than himself that’s kept him from being caught.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Who does not love those classic "As Seen On TV" household items. From the Clapper to Spray on Hair, they have in one way or another become part of everyone's life and an icon in TV advertising. Now take those wonderful inventions, add a serial killer, buckets of blood and copious amounts of popcorn, and you have AS SEEN ON TV, the new novel from John Wayne Comunale.

I will have to be careful on talking about the story. There are some plot points I do not want to give away as spoilers. So bear with me as we jump around a little bit to keep this review spoiler free.

Artie, our main character, is a serial killer who also has a compulsive addiction to As Seen On TV items. His life revolves around the daily use of these gadgets and of course, his love of killing. Artie has a solid routine and it has kept him safe for many years, but suddenly something has changed and he finds his world upended by the appearance of a strange man. Events start to spiral out of Artie's control and he will begin to question the safety of his anonymity and his sanity.

Artie is a great character. It is not often that you find yourself rooting for the serial killer, but in this story you will find yourself doing just that. Artie could be your average every-man, the person you pass by each day and not think twice about. But he is a killer, and a very creative one at that. The author gives us good background on Artie and really brings him to life as the story moves along. This is really Artie's story. There are a few other characters in the story, but the author keeps it simple and tight with a small cast and only a couple key locations. 

The author has fun with the As Seen On TV items. Using existing tools and making up some truly funny combinations. Who wouldn't want a Hair De-Greaser and Straightener with a built in popcorn maker. He might start his own trend and soon Ronco will be making some surprising new items.

The author has fun with the gadgets, but in the end this is a horror novel. As the story progresses, more and more blood is spilt as Artie's world unravels. The last act of the story has a scene that makes any Clive Barker story look tame in comparison. 

So plug in your book reading light with optional popcorn maker and GPS, and enjoy AS SEEN ON TV.  (Available now in limited quantities, selling fast, first 10 callers get a self-sharpening steak knife with detachable toe-nail clippers)

AS SEEN ON TV can be purchased on AMAZON.

You can learn more about JOHN WAYNE COMUNALE and his other works HERE.

Please visit GRINDHOUSE PRESS to see all the other great books they offer.